Al Barr Apologizes for Gay Slur – Crickets on Transmisogyny

Al Barr, singer of the Dropkick Murphys, recently used the word “f*ggot” in a promotional video for a Berlin punk festival, and subsequently apologized for it, saying:

Just wanted to address the negative comment that I made. I’d like to apologize for using the term. By no means did I intend for it to cause any hurt or harm, I now fully realize how insensitive it was.  Having grown up within a very diverse punk scene, I have many gay friends. I would never want to hurt anyone’s feelings with my comments.

My band and i are any anything but homophobic and our 16 year track record proves that we stand up for human rights and fight against injustices towards all people.

Oh really, Al? Your band’s track record proves that you fight against injustices towards all people? What about the fact that one of your songs uses a slur against trans women, the group of people that, specifically trans women of color, face the highest number of hate crimes? Where’s your apology for that?

Not only do you not stand up against injustice, but you actively perpetuate it with using slurs in your own songs.

About punksexism

bringing light to the constantly ignored sexism (and endless other discrimination) in punk!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.